Double It Up

Welcome back Deed Doer’s. I hope you and the deed recipient(s) found great value and happiness upon the execution of last weeks deed. If you did not get the opportunity to put last weeks deed into action, I highly recommend that you make time to act on the Double It Up deed this week. I guarantee the deliberate execution of this deed will shine happiness into the lives of all of those involved.

I want to get right down to business this week. I know time is precious and the longer we sit here reading the Project Deed page the less time we have to inflict intentional kindness into the world.

DEED: Double It Up

OBJECTIVE: 1) Buy two and give one away. It’s simple. Sometime throughout the week make a conscious decision to buy two of something (Double It Up). It can be anything. It could be a cup of coffee, a stamp at the post office, a large peperoni pizza with extra cheese. If you are buying it, buy two. You can probably guess what a deed doer would do with the extra item. That’s right, you are going to buy two and give one of them away.

2)Take a picture of your deed in action (The receipt or the two items etc.) and email it to cjsaluki@siu.edu.

3) Check back on https://projectdeeds.wordpress.com/ . Your Deed Doer status may be recognized and posted on the Project Deed page.

4) Be a DD this week! People of action are extraordinary so act on this deed and share it with others.

Extra Stuff:

Starting this week, I will be adding an additional thought or topic to the end of each post. These extras are just…. extra. If you want to read them and find them valuable I will be thrilled. If you do not want to read them, I promise I won’t cry myself to sleep. If you don’t like em, don’t read em, haha.

Extra #1: The Man In the Glass

This is a marvelous poem that I came across while reading a book that changed my life. That book was called Season of Life and it opened my eyes to what being a man really meant. Enjoy!

 When you get what you want in your struggle for self
And the world makes you king for a day
Just go to the mirror and look at yourself
And see what that man has to say.

For it isn’t your father, or mother, or wife
Whose judgment upon you must pass
The fellow whose verdict counts most in your life
Is the one staring back from the glass.

He’s the fellow to please – never mind all the rest
For he’s with you, clear to the end
And you’ve passed your most difficult, dangerous test
If the man in the glass is your friend.

You may fool the whole world down the pathway of years
And get pats on the back as you pass
But your final reward will be heartache and tears
If you’ve cheated the man in the glass.

 Have a spectacular week. De a DD!

 

7 thoughts on “Double It Up

  1. What a stellar idea. Its something I do regularly anyway and now it has a name! My philosophy is anything worth enjoying needs company. Great poem too. Thanks for following my blog.

  2. Connor! I must say project deeds is really catching on– I love checking the website (which looks awesome btw) and seeing how I can spread random acts of love and kindness. Life is much more enjoyable when you’re able to spread the love to others. Thank you for always being such an inspiration. Your light shines bright, brother.

Leave a Reply

